10 Reasons not to commit Suicide (as per the web)

If you’re reading this, there is at least a small part in you that doesn’t want to die. Listen to it, and please read on.

  1. Suicide is final – once it’s done, there’s no changing your mind. Since you have even the slightest of doubts, you owe it to yourself to stay alive.
  2. You can always kill yourself later, why not wait? Even if you wait just one day, you may find a reason not to kill yourself in the meantime.
  3. If you’re feeling suicidal, you’re probably in more pain than you know how to handle. There are ways to reduce the pain, and ways to learn to deal with pain. You can learn both – either way things will get better.
  4. Just because you’re feeling suicidal doesn’t mean you have toact on that feeling.
  5. Consider this – if you’re trying to escape from the pain you are in and seek relief, suicide is not the answer. You cannot feel relief, or anything else for that matter, if you are dead. You must stay alive in order to feel the relief you seek.
  6. Often when feeling suicidal you feel alone. You are not alone – you found us didn’t you? Turn to your family or friends or a priest or a rabbi – anyone that will listen. If you don’t know whom to turn to, use the links on the right-hand side of this page to find resources that can help.
  7. By terminating your life right now, you terminate your future. Consider this – we create our own future. You have the power to create whatever future you wish for yourself. But you need to be alive in order to have that future.
  8. If you’re sensitive enough to be in so much pain that you no longer want to live, you’re probably sensitive enough to care about, and want to help others. Maybe you don’t feel like helping anyone else right now, but why not help yourself? And perhaps by not killing yourself and overcoming your difficulties you can later help someone else who is in a similar situation.
  9. Finally, don’t do it because I’m personally asking you not to. Whatever you’re feeling, whatever you’re going through, things can get better – I know because I’ve been there. Maybe I haven’t experienced exactly what you have, but not only have I thought of suicide, I tried it – thankfully I was unsuccessful and I can speak from personal experience when I tell you things can get better.

59 Comments

  1. thank you so much whoever wrote this. i’ve been to so many website, to so many check lists, and none of the reasons seemed good enough. but i love this, and i will look at this whenever i feel like i want to end my life. in all seriousness, thank you

    • thank you so much iv been having a reallly terrible stressfull month im scared the girl im in love with no onger feels the same about me shes always angry and making me feel worthless but i love her more then anything in the world id die for her but im scared i may die without her she is my future and i feel shes out of love so i no longer have that future please say something anything anyone i need reasons and this list definitly helped me im so happy when were happy but the love is gone and i wanna be gone without it its all i want

    • i really need some help right now im losing the girl im in love with and its fucking killing me she makes me feel so worthless maybe i am worthless i wake up and feel like im not good enough like i can never make her happy like ill always just be some guy and i cant take it i love her more then anything in the world and the way i feel i have lots of other stress and its all pushing me to the edge i cant take it by myself anymore please respond those were very good reasons u may have saved my life i justcant take being unloved by the thing i treasure more then life itself… please respond

      • No one should make you feel worthless! The 10th reason is you. I could go on about self love or divine spark but that is probably not helpful. You are worthwhile because you are you. You may not feel it, you may not believe it, some others may not affirm it, yet others will. Despite all that goes on it is not what has happened it is what you make happen, that my friend is yet to be written don’t let others write the script for you. My words are true you are worthwhile.

    • no. if you want to do it you will. end of story.

    • My name is Robert from somewhere in So Calif. Today I lost my wife. I begged her for another chance and she decided she was closing the doors on our relationship. I read here that you feel alone, I feel very alone as well…. All I can think of is dying and ending my pain…I really don’t want to do it…But my heart is ready to explode… Tonight she told me, she felt she was losing a friend….. Well, I feel like I’m losing a wife and my life… because I can’t live without her.
      I’m here holding my gun now and I hope I could come back and delete this, suicide isn’t the answer for everything…But my life was her….. I realized too late…And I suffer the actions of this…..

      I just wish she could have said yes… I couldn’t have changed her life. I wanted to change her life. I want to end mine.

      • I have been there a long time ago. It can and will get better.
        For me I remarried and now have beautiful daughter.

        There is nothing I can say or do to make it better but it doesn’t have to be the end.

    • i feel like its been a black cloud over my head for the last 10 years for whatever reason. i’ve tried suicide already and i failed. that morning i swolled 8 1000mg of i.b profen and took it with some hennessy. my girlfriend at the time, found me and they pumped my stomach. i really wish she wouldve just let me die that day. i try so hard to be a good citizen and follow the rules but if people judge me before i say hello whats the fuckin point. i think im going to attempt suicide one more time but this time ill do it right. ill drive up to the coast and look at all the nice houses that i will never get to experience myself, and put a bullet in my head so there will be no saving me. one time in my life i was an all-american basketball player with a bright future now im jus at dead in jobs where i get fired from just because of my stature of being a black 6″2 man. white folks just dont know how luck they got it. nirvana

  2. i have been there and back as well but you say thing will get better but im my case thing have gone from good to worse repeatedly for 5 years each time i have something good something exponentially bad happens and im in a worse place/situation then i was before…… what do you have to say to that i know thing will get better but the past has shown me that it will get worse as well. so if i know my life will go good to only go bad and have all the good erased if not more when why live?

    • Can only speak of my own experiences. Still here!
      Don’t always know why.

      Hupomenos simply means ‘hang in’ thats the best I can offer

  3. I killed myself anyway.

  4. Dear sir / madame,

    As a very depressed obessive compulsive (dyslexic) i find the fact that you indicated 10 reasons why not to kill yourself but only gave 9 reasons / statements frustrating. But regrardless 9 very good points, i just wish it was ten or you change the desciption to 9. Happy new years and heres to many more,

    taking each day
    Josh

  5. I was seriously considering over-dosing tonight. The fact of the matter is…sometimes I just get so bored with life…that I wonder if it would be better if I just ended it all. It would be so easy. But I know that I was put on this Earth for a reason, and your words gave me that extra little push to accept that. Thank you so much for posting.

  6. Consider this- Its bad, small perks, and worse, and so on. Repetitively. Im numb, it helps suppress the dpssion, but I feel Im becoming too numb, to emotions, love,& kids. I just think fuckit. That its best to leave evrything, willing to exile myself from any happiness we may evr hav. Oh by the way, we dont have the power to create w/ever future we wish for ourselves. I thank you for the thought.

  7. I know what u mean, thanks I needed to hear that… I have been going through so much shit AGH like sometimes I feel like fuck life, fuck other people’s depression, fuck what they say, I have right to end my life but yeah u are right…

  8. Theres only 9.

    • SO WHAT!

      • I wanted 10 im killing myself because of false-advertisment

  9. please email me, I am suicidal.
    i am being emotionally abused by my mother; she tells me that everything’s my fault, that nothings wrong with me, borderline is a joke.
    that i shouldn’t be upset or angry or just any emotion, she tells me that I’m a silly little baby Megan and I need to grow up, she has a baby voice she does.
    she denies that she does Anything wrong.
    she used to read all my Facebook,email,texts,phone logs every day.
    she doesn’t let me out of the house ever, 
    if I trie to leave the room, or I step back away from her or I move away from her at all she grabs my face and pulls it towards her and whispers in my ear, or she grabs my arms or if I say no, she slaps my legs or arms,
    she used to slap me on the face but when I was 14 I slapped back. 
    im too afraid of her to physically stop her now. 
    I just look at the wall or away from her and trie to think of other things.
    if It gets bad I trie to get away from her because I’m so scared. 
    I just want her to stop.
    only my friends and my therapist believes me.
    my grandma doesn’t listen she doesn’t understand I’m serious about it. 
    I’m also a borderline.
    I have aspergers syndrome.
    I suffer from anorexia nervosa.
    I was assaulted on my birthday.
    I’m a sex addict.
    Ive started doing drugs and abusing alcohol.
    please please please help me!
    I need your help because I can hardly control the urge anymore, my self harm is becoming so serious.
    my names Rachele and I’m 16 and I live in th uk.

    • Hey Rachele,
      You seem to be in an horrific situation.

      First thing is even though everything seems to the contrary DON’T DISPAIR.

      The issue at hand seems to be one of control. Even though I am not a professional I think I can say with safety you can take back sontrol of your life even though it may be a tough battle.

      It seems though your email at least you do have a therapist and some friends that believe you. That is a good start.

      Let me say that drug and/or alcohol are not a solution to your situation although I am sure that you know that.

      The battle for you is who controls your thoughts and emotions. I take it that you feel out of control at the moment, which by the way is felling that most of us get at one time or the other. Think about the outcome that you want, then talk to your therapist ant tell them what outcome you have decided and ask how to achieve that outcome.

      Perhaps it is only you who can decide how this will play out. You have gone through a tough time and even though you feel fragile you must have something within you that has helped you get by to this point.

      Hang In: it can be better and you can make it better.

      There is nothing wrong with you because any “normal” person who is or was going through these problems would go through similar problems would react in the same way as you. Now that would be normal. continue to talk to friend and your therapist and if others refues to listen to to you keep going until you find those who do..

      My thoughts are with you. Be strong! I hope that this message maybe of some small help.

      Leon

      • hey thank you so much,
        you are kind, I really needed that support!(: xxx

    • i know wat u r goin through i am also bordeline suscidal my mother does the same the only ones i could tell were my friends and now when i talk to them about it they get pissed if you ever need to talk just give me your #

    • btw rachele i dont check my email often but il keep an eye out for you

    • gave u the wrong email sorry

  10. . i have an extreme anxiety disorder and Depressed. i just moved with in with my father and steo mother with 1 brother and 2 sisters. im the oldest and im only blood related to one sister because im not blood related to my father, he took me in as his own as a baby and i was lied to until i was 13 then the news was given to me by my father, who was pretty much my idol. Anyway, fastforwarding to the present 8 years later. i havent lived with this family before now, only visited, except my blood sister who went back n fourth between houses. Everyone in this house knows im not blood and even though they treat me like blood, i get treated differently as well. They think i have sociopathic issues because my sperm doners side of the family is full of low life drug addict nut jobs. i get treated as if im a serial killer just waiting to happen. The step mom treats her own daughter with favoritism, but is even worse to me than the other step kids because im not blood to at least the father. She’s nice. but 2 faced

    • I read your comments with interest.
      Issues of identity are deep seated. I think that the people with the most difficulty in understanding depression and anxiety are often the one’s who are closest to us.

      Your situation is complicated by the genetic issues. Sure these things have an influence but it is a lot of other factors that go to make you who you are. Let me say that children of mass murderers do not become mass murderers themselves.

      You have the power inside you to write your own script on how your life is going to turn out.

      The limitations of this blog does not give me the ability to change much for you but you can find help.

      The first step is finding someone to confide in preferably a professional like a Doctor or therapist sometimes even a minister of religion can help. It is not the answer but it is the first step.

  11. [...] Reasons Not To Kill Yourself Tonight [...]

  12. What if the issue is not feeling anything at all? No happiness, pain, fear, ambition, love? Just nothing it’s not that I’m sad or really think I’m gonna kill myself but I’m tired of acting like the funny Guy all the time when I just don’t feel funny or happy. I lost some girl that I’m impartial to at best. but I act like I give a shit about her just to be a part of society. It’s my 20 the birthday today great… I wish they where still fun and simple.

  13. I really needed this. My best friend is in State Hospital and I didn’t tell her how I felt about her before she left….that I love her. I was contemplating suicide for not having the guts, but she doesn’t know that I like both girls AND boys. I feel like it’s my fault that she’s in State Hospital, that if I hadn’t started cutting myself that she wouldn’t have gotten so sad. Wow, just typing this is making want to cut again, somebody help me.

    • Hey Ari I don’t know what to say. there is a whole lot of stuff there. You are who you are. Who you are attracted to is not really the issue.
      I have a friend who has struggled with issues of same sex attraction and at the end of the day the fact is that he is attracted to people of the same gender. He has tried all kinds of stuff but he is what he is. Many people will give you all kinds of advice but it is down to you how you filter this stuff. Gender politics is confusing strait, gay or both but you have to resolve in yourself what is going on for you.

      Tell her you love her. It is possible to love more than one person. Taking your life is not a solution it leaves those left behind pretty screwed up and there are no and will be no resolution for you or anyone. Maybe you have to tough it through before you come to a long term solution that works for you.

      BTW The reason for the slow reply is the net was down where I live.

  14. dude, i’ve been waiting a couple hours havn’t cut yet don’t know how much longer I can hold out I don’t even know what I feel. Some body, anybody please help me out I don’t know what to do I didn’t ask for this life .

  15. oh, okay, thx, you are really helpful. oh,this is the longest i’ve ever gone without cutting myself ,thank you.

    • Thank you me and her are together now! :):):):)

  16. I dont want to feel relief. I dont want to feel anything anymore. Nothing is better than this.

  17. Hey friend.
    You just saved my life, and on both me and my friends’ and family’s behalf, i would like to thank you.
    I’m still in deep sorrow, but after reading this, I’ll at least try to keep me alive long enough to find something to hold on to.
    You’re a good person to post a writing like this, and even tho it’s just a short bunch of sentences, it means the world to me right now, and probably in the future too.
    I’ll write this down and read it every time things are getting hard.
    The world needs more people like you in it.
    Thanks again, and may the stars shine bright on you, for you deserve it.

    Good luck with your life in the future.

    Sincerely,
    A broken man who found some hope.

  18. This really helped. I’m dyslexic/ADHD and I always get made fun of and school and on top of that all my friends turned on me and sence then (may) I hav not talked to anyone but my family. It’s pretty rough but this helped…a lot so thanks.

  19. i am 12 yrs old and have wanted to commit suicide many time for about 2 years now thing have got better but im going through a hardship rite now and need some support i almost killed myself last night but saw this site ur a life savor nobody knows what im going through rite now things are getting better but i just want some ideas on what to do plz help

  20. Hey everyone… I made an award winning anti-bullying video for the Great American No Bull Challenge… I have made an email itfollowsyou@gmail.com for anyone that needs someone to talk to. I can be there for you. Here is a link to me introducing my video. It will be shown in schools across the country. So I’m just saying… Your not alone and I will help!

    • Oh crap… Sorry…don’t go to that link…. go to this link (in the description you can find the original video.

  21. i have attempted 4 times and could never go throught with it because i realized that you should never do it cause you never know whats down the road from now, the last time i attempted was 5 months ago and i havent tryed again because of this girl i met at school and i dont know how thats going to turn out but i know it will never happen but im trying as hard as possible

  22. she is whats keeping me alive and she doesnt know at all about it

    • My advise is to not throw it all on her now. Wait til you can fully trust her… And yeah man… you never know what will happen later down the road. You can get through it all! :) Anything is possible.

  23. This is the worst load of nonsense I’ve read in a while

  24. After reading this I can’t believe I even considered doing it, sorry I can’t write no more as my tears are burring the screen.

    Btw I’m 12 years old , 12 years going on 80,as it seems. Mature for my age , mature enough to take everything personally. I need a life.

    • I know exactly how you feel. Life is a cruel bitch, and only some people get the worst of it. One of my friends suggested that I try and find love, saying that it might give me reason to live. Although I haven’t found this true yet, I’ll suggest it to you. If u ever need a friend to talk to I’m here for you, or anyone else who reads this. My email is jackheagy@gmail.com

  25. Im 17 and i go to college. my parents have recently broke up and it was the worst as i was involved and most of the time blamed for the fights when they had nothing to do with me. i have a small family and i am not close to anyone in it. i have a lot of friends and people i know and speak to but i dont feel close to anyone. not close enough for me to not feel alone anyway. i did badly in all of my exams in school. this really makes me question my future. i know i am not bad looking but i have never had a gf. i can easly speak to girls but i shit myself whenever i think of actually being in a relationship. i feel like i will mess it up or something i dunno. i am so pathetic that whenever i get close to a girl i almost instantly fall in love and become a needy bitch. this quality obviously isnt attractive and i ruin things for myself. its like i subconsiously hate myself and whenever things are goin my way i mess myself up! i dont know what to do! i feel tired and bad about myself all the fucking time i have had enough!!! its hard to get up in the moring when in the day i feel like crying. my attitudes and moods seem to change constantly, some days are good and some i want to walk around not looking left and right when i cross a busy road. i dont self harm or any of that shit i just tend to play video games and forget. i am not gonna kill myself i dont think but i just want to know how i can be truely happy again.

  26. please MaddDirectioner if you read this please don’t do it

  27. I may not know you and you may not know me but you really helped me. It wasn’t but 15 min ago I attempted but not only did you help me but you are helping so many others too i’m really glad you failed your attempt because if you didn’t we probably would hae all succesed too. Thank you

  28. Hey i tried talkingto my friends and family. But they wont listen to me at all. Also My only friend ditched me and stole my gf. So if you have any reasons why i should not commit please reply…

    • You shouldn’t end it I’ve thought about it but if your only friend ran away with your gf then he isn’t really your friend look for people who actually care about you who won’t run away with your gf that I hope is a good enough reason for you not to commit

  29. I have been feeling like this for some years now and it’s been hard fighting the urge to do it. one of my best friends was shot 3 times and died then my other best friends drowned right in front of me on my bday and all of that has been really hard on me. then today I found out the my daughter’s mom is sleeping with someone else and I Love her to death and I just can’t take none of this anymore. those reasons at the top are not making not want to do it.

  30. This really helped me I am going through a really shut situation and I felt like ending it several times but this list has really helped so thank you so much whoever wrote this cause is a big reason why I am still here

  31. My parents are getting death threats and the people who are doing broke into our house stole stuff messed up my brothers room sent threat to my 8 year old brother my 3 year old sister and myself (13) several times through this I have thought about ending it but I knew I couldn’t do it so I started searching on the Internet for better reasons not to end it and none of them were any good well that’s what I thought until I found this site thank you so much whoever wrote really helped me so thanks heaps

  32. I have thought and thought about this for so long I don’t think I will ever find a reason not to do it I mean my family fucking hates me my sister wishes I was dead so why not just please her it will make everyone happy in the end

  33. You seriously make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this topic to be actually a matter that I feel I’d not at all understand. It seems too complicated and extremely extensive for me. I am anticipating your subsequent publishings, I will try to get the dangle of it.

  34. Thank you very much you saved another life today c:

  35. i want to dissapear from the face of this earth and from existance..my life is nothing but a waste givin to me with aknowledgement that all my hopes and dream were false

  36. Im 14 and why does everyone say it will get better i have tried to kill myself 4 times and no one cares. its getting worse because i failed it hasent got better at all. first time i was 12 and i still arent gettin help. I got told its my fault i get bullied. It dosent get bettrr it gets a hell of alot worse

    • Terms like it will get better mean nothing when you are in the depth of crisis. It is only when you look back from beyond the difficulties that you can appreciate what is being said. Kept telling people you need help until someone responds. My thoughts are with you. Don’t give up on yourself, never give up on yourself.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.